All set for tomorrow: we’re finally going up the Içana river

I just came back from the gas station. Now I have all the gasoline I need to go upstream to the indigenous school Pamaali of the Baniwa e Coripaco people. I paid R$ 508,50 for 150 liters that shall be enough to pay for the ride upstream and allow me to arrange a ride back to the city. The boatman and the teachers that have come to pick us up have brought some gallons, I discovered yesterday. So I’m no longer worried about how to store the fuel.

My comrade João also got 150 liters. We are giving the boatman 50 liters to pay for part of his journey downstream to come pick us up. Then we expect to use around 200 liters to go upstream. It will leave us 25 liters each to negotiate a ride back to the city when the classes are over. This will be at the end of the month, when there will be an Assembly to celebrate the school’s 10th anniversary. Since they are expecting around 800 people to attend the meeting, there should be no problem in finding a ride back.

Yesterday I went to the grocery shop to buy food for this month that I’ll be spending in the heart of the Amazonian forest. There are still some things missing, but I shall get them as soon as I leave ISA at the end of the afternoon. I had to buy lots of things to be able to embark on this trip, I’ll tell you all about it in another occasion. Yesterday I already started packing. Tomorrow we set sail at 8 am. Wish me luck and that my computer (and other electronic things) arrives safe and sound!

Sobre isisvalle

New media journalist, digital inclusion researcher and nutritionist to be.
Esse post foi publicado em English e marcado , . Guardar link permanente.

Uma resposta para All set for tomorrow: we’re finally going up the Içana river

  1. Edu Élleres disse:

    Faça uma boa viagem, meu amor, que tudo corra bem em Paamali e esse mês termine logo. Muitas saudades de vc, dedos cruzados, godspeed e tudo de bom pra você!
    Cuide-se, amor…

Deixe um comentário

